Diamond Leaf Cowl

I finished my Diamond Leaf Cowl today! I’m super happy it’s complete!

diamond leaf cowl me diamond leaf cowl flat

The Pattern: I found this pattern in my 2013 Knitting Calendar. It’s a really simple cowl. It involved a 16-stitch, 20-row diamond leaf pattern and some purl rows as edging. The diamond leaf pattern could easily be applied to other projects. It looks pretty cool (I know it’d look better if it was blocked, but I’m just too impatient!) but it requires a lot of attention! This is not a movie watching pattern!! The repeats are pretty complex and they vary from row to row. I don’t think I made any mistakes, but it took a lot of focus.

The Yarn: I used Caron Simply Soft Light in Key Lime. I had this full, unused skein from when I bought it to make the stem of a flower and then frogged it (I pin the flower in my hair!). It’s a very nice color! I thought it’d complement the “leaf” aspect, though after making the cowl I see that it’s more diamond than leaf. It’ll make the cowl perfect for spring, especially because it’s so light. I can see now that smaller needles would have been necessary to give me the right gauge (I’m typically a loose knitter) but cowls are pretty much gauge-independent. The pattern might look better if it were less loose, but the size is just as good as is. It used almost the whole skein, so I’m happy with my stash busting efforts.

 

What’s next for me:  I still have a few other stash-busting projects to do. Mostly cowls, of course! But I’ve been thinking fall soon, particularly Halloween, so I’m sort of in the market for a new pattern. I found a super cute pumpkin hat, and it’s totally my style.

pumpkin hat

What do you think? Perfectly themed for the holiday season, without being cheesey! I’ll see if I decide to splurge on a little special yarn!

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Diamond Leaf Cowl”

  1. happycat13 says :

    Beautiful cowl! I LOVE your hair too! Classy!

Leave a comment