Archive | January 27, 2013

Jenny’s Earwarmer

Just this past week, I finished TWO projects! The first one I finished was Jenny’s Earwarmer. The pattern comes from the book 101 Designer One-Skein Wonders, which I got for Christmas. It’s so trendy.

jenny's earmwarmer complete

The Pattern: The pattern was very simple and it only took me a little over a week to make. I had never knit cables before, but it turned out to be easy and interesting! I love the way it looks. My sister Jenny has never been into hats (not stylish enough for her!) so I thought she could use a more trendy way to keep her ears warm. She says it’s a little small (she must have a bigger head than me!) so I’m going to try to block it and stretch it out just a tad, though with the yarn it might be difficult. I did 7 repeats of the cable pattern (as suggested) for about 17″ unstretched. I’d probably have done an 8th repeat if I knew her head was so big!

The Yarn: I used Lion Brand Vanna’s Choice in Beige, which I had left over from my Doctor Who Scarf. As the pattern promised, it took me less than one skein to make it! It probably took me just over half the ball, so I can still make something else out of it. I asked for this book so that I could do some stash busting, and I’m so pleased with my first project’s use of yarn. I really enjoy Vanna’s Choice because it’s acrylic and soft. My only concern is that it might not stretch very well.

What’s Next for Me: I’m in the process of making the Venice Outfit for my pig Lulu but that should be completed soon. After that, I’ll be done with the January/February 2013 issue of Crochet Today! but I won’t be ready to start the March/April issue (it’s too cold out to think of Spring!). That means I’ll be ticking off some random stash busters! Yay! I’ve decided to make myself a Loop Through Scarf and a Berruti Hat in matching turquoise so that I’ll stay warm walking around campus.